Low fodmap, fresh tomato soup

Tomato soup has always been a firm favourite for me. When I was little my favourite thing to order at a café was a bowl of bright red tomato soup and a side of chunky chips (for dipping of course). I am aware that it was weird. But I’m ok with that, because it was delicious.

I remember when I was six and in hospital having my appendix whipped out, lunch was always good old Heinz cream of tomato. Ever since, it’s been a comfort food of mine.

However, as we all know, if you’re on fodmap you can’t just grab a tin of soup from the shop. Oh no, it’ll be full of milk and onion and garlic and tummy ache.

So I’ve come up with my own, far healthier and bloated belly free version. It’s not Heinz but I promise you it will hit the spot.

Ingredients

  • 900g Passata
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 courgette
  • 1 red pepper
  • 2 spring onions (green tops only)
  • Low fodmap stock
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp dried basil
  • 1 tbsp fresh basil (optional)
  • 1 tbsp garlic infused oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method

Chop up all the veg roughly and add to a deep saucepan along with the garlic oil, basil, sugar, salt and pepper.

Fry gently until the veg is softened then pour in the passata, the stock and the tomato puree.

Leave to simmer on a low heat until everything is soft, then remove from the heat and blend until there are no lumps left.

Adjust the seasoning to your taste, maybe add a bit more basil, salt and pepper or an extra pinch of sugar to bring out the flavour of the tomatoes.

And there you have it! Really yummy, fresh tomato soup.

Leave a Reply

