Low fodmap, paleo ketchup


So I’m a bit of a ketchup-aholic. I may be a grown adult woman but man do I love the stuff.

I’m even partial to a bit of ketchup on the side of my Sunday roast beef. I know I KNOW I’m disgusting.

But since starting on my sibo journey and low fodmap diet, shop bought ketchup is out of the window. It’s got far too much delicious garlic and onion in it, sadly the main culprits of the fodmap diet.

I’ve tried going without but that’s not doing it for me so instead I’ve made my own!

The fodmap diet, even though it’s restrictive by nature, doesn’t have to be if you’re ready to get hands on in the kitchen!

This ketchup is surprisingly easy to make and super tasty! It’ll last up to 6 weeks in the fridge too (although I don’t think that’s going to be a problem in this house!)

Ingredients

  • 225g 100% tomato passata
  • 120ml white vinegar
  • 50g  sugar (or coconut sugar for paleo)
  • 1 teaspoon dried mustard powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika

Instructions

Add all of your ingredients to a sauce pan and bring to a simmer. All the sauce to simmer for at least 20 minutes. It will thicken as time goes on. Make sure to stir occasionally to prevent the bottom or sides from burning. When it’s done, allow the ketchup to cool completely before storing in an airtight container to keep in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

